Diamond Buying Guide

The Four C's

Every Diamond is unique - the Four C's identify the grade and the characteristics that define the quality of a diamond.

The Four C's are Cut, Colour, Clarity and Carat.


One of the first things we notice about a diamond, apart from its size, is the sparkle. The light play inside the diamond is what makes it so alluring.

When a gem is cut to the correct proportions, it reveals the diamond’s brilliance, fire, and scintillation. A Diamond cutter must calculate the perfect proportions to allow this to happen.

Only the Round Brilliant is formally graded for cut. All other shapes are referred to as Fancy Cut and are graded for colour and clarity only. Any mention of cut grade is purely subjective.

BRILLIANCE: Internal and external white light reflected from a diamond.

FIRE: The little sparkles that are created as light exits the stone and scatters into all the different colours of the rainbow.

SCINTILLATION: The play of light as it bounces off the facets of the diamond with the movement of the gem.

Diamond Shapes

The Princess Cut

The Princess Cut diamond was first developed in 1979 and it quickly rose in popularity to be second only to the Round Brilliant Cut. Unlike its square cousins, Asscher and Emerald, which feature step-cut facets, the Princess Cut borrows its long pavilion facets from the Round Brilliant. Thus the name Square Modified Round Brilliant which is the gemological description as per GIA certificate.


Essential to the value of a diamond is the colour. Almost all white diamonds naturally possess some colour, including tones of yellow and brown and sometimes a combination of both.

The least amount of colour makes the whitest diamond.

Our white diamonds are graded, using the GIA Colour Grading system, from D to Z. D being the highest colour and exceptionally rare and therefore the most valuable.

A Diamond's colour grade is reflected in the price.

The whiter the Diamond, the more valuable the gem. Whether you choose high colour icy whites (D – G) or the warm tones of H, I & J, there is no right or wrong choice, only personal preference.


The clarity grade of a diamond refers to the internal inclusions or external markings of the gem. The placement, size and number of inclusions and markings through out the gem directly relate to price and therefore value.

The internal inclusions or external markings are the DNA of a Diamond.


A Diamond's weight is meaured in carats. 1 carat is equal to 100 points. Carat weight is always denoted to two decimal places (1.00ct).

Diamonds that weigh just below the full carat, are fewer in number but can represent excellent value for those working within a budget.

A diamond's value is not determined by Carat alone. Cut, Colour and Clarity are equally considered.

Join Our Gold Card Club!

Be the first to hear about our special offers and the latest jewellery trends.